Underworld: Mugshots from the Roaring Twenties at
TBA
Multiple Sessions

Underworld: Mugshots from the Roaring Twenties

Unique and captivating photographs of the 1920s criminal underworld capture the zeitgeist of an era. These mugshots, known as ‘Specials’, are unexpectedly candid and intriguing portraits of suspects in custody, and they are unlike any elsewhere in the world.

Bosses, bruisers, plotters, drug pushers, addicts, sly-grog purveyors and petty crims are all captured by the camera as they stare down the lens into history. But more than simple mugshots, these portraits, and the stories of the sordid sorts they portray, also convey the rise and fall of trends such as the flapper and illustrate the post-war movement of people between Sydney and other cities such as New York and London.

The hit BBC series Peaky Blinders found inspiration in this unique photographic archive, as have artists, academics and designers such as Ralph Lauren and Karl Lagerfeld. What will you take from them?

A travelling exhibition from Sydney Living Museums.
Address: Kings Avenue, Parkes 2600
Price: TBA
Date: Tuesday Sep 21st, 2021 9:30am to 4:30pm
Sessions
Sessions
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Tue Sep 21, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Wed Sep 22, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Thu Sep 23, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Fri Sep 24, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Sat Sep 25, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Sun Sep 26, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Mon Sep 27, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Tue Sep 28, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Wed Sep 29, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Thu Sep 30, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Fri Oct 1, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Sat Oct 2, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Sun Oct 3, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Mon Oct 4, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Tue Oct 5, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Wed Oct 6, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Thu Oct 7, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Fri Oct 8, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Sat Oct 9, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Sun Oct 10, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Mon Oct 11, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Tue Oct 12, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Wed Oct 13, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Thu Oct 14, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Fri Oct 15, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Sat Oct 16, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Sun Oct 17, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Mon Oct 18, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Tue Oct 19, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Wed Oct 20, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Thu Oct 21, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Fri Oct 22, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Sat Oct 23, 2021 at 9:30 AM
National Archives of Australia
Kings Avenue, Parkes
Starts: Sun Oct 24, 2021 at 9:30 AM
Australian Capital Territory