Omega Ensemble: Night Serenades at City Recital Hall
$29 - $129
Thu Oct 29th, 2020

Omega Ensemble: Night Serenades
City Recital Hall

Grand serenades, melodramatic sextets and music hidden in the shadows

Antonín Dvořák - Serenade for Winds, Cello and Double Bass in D minor
Ernő Dohnányi - Sextet
Elena Kats-Chernin - Sextet for Flute and Strings, 'Night and Now' [World Premiere]

Modelled after Mozart’s ‘Gran Partita’, Dvořák’s epic Serenade for Winds, Cello and Double Bass is a work of comparable impressive scale but with an expression quite unlike the original source of inspiration. This momentous work, which will bring together some of Australia's best wind players, is accompanied by Dohyani’s intense Sextet, a work of heightened lyricism and drama, sweeping melodies and rumbling textures which defies the forces for which it is written.

This program also features the world premiere of a new Sextet for Flute and Strings by Elena Kats-Chernin, written after her Flute Concerto 'Night and Now', and premiered in this performance by acclaimed flautist Sally Walker for who the original setting was written.
Address: 2 Angel Place, Sydney 2000
Price: $29 - $129
Date: Thursday Oct 29th, 2020 7:30pm to 9:30pm
City Recital Hall
2 Angel Place, Sydney 2000 New South Wales