Spoken: celebrating Queensland languages at
TBA
Multiple Sessions

Spoken: celebrating Queensland languages

Spoken: celebrating Queensland languages is a free thought-provoking exhibition about the survival and revival of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages.

Over 125 Queensland languages were once spoken, now around 50 of these remain spoken daily. Join the journey of six Queensland communities saving their traditional languages.

Spoken presents an alternative retelling of the prevailing colonial narrative – placing rare historical records alongside the inspiring work of contemporary Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists who tell their own language stories through art, song and creativity.

View Australia’s most significant historical document in a new light. James Cook’s Endeavour Journal holds the first 130 Aboriginal words ever recorded by Europeans in the Guugu Yimidhirr language but hear the Guugu Yimidhirr perspective of those interactions with the foreign explorers.

Rediscover Queensland languages lost and reawakened by the strength of culture, identity and connection to Country.

Featuring the exciting work of communities reviving and thriving in language: Wik (Aurukun), Guugu Yimidhirr (Hope Vale), Yuwibara (Mackay), Yugambeh (South East Qld), Kala Lagaw Ya & Miriam Mir (Torres Strait Islands) and Kuungkari, Bidjara, Iningai, Wangkangurru and Yarluyandi (Central West Qld region).


Cook’s Endeavour Journal on loan from National Library of Australia until 10 March 2020.
Address: Stanley Place, South Brisbane 4101
Price: TBA
Date: Friday Feb 28th, 2020 9:00am to 5:00pm
Sessions
Sessions
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Feb 28, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Feb 28, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sat Feb 29, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sun Mar 1, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Mar 2, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Mar 2, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Mar 3, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Mar 3, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Mar 4, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Mar 4, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Mar 5, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Mar 5, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Mar 6, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Mar 6, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sat Mar 7, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sun Mar 8, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Mar 9, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Mar 9, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Mar 10, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Mar 10, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Mar 11, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Mar 11, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Mar 12, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Mar 12, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Mar 13, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Mar 13, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sat Mar 14, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sun Mar 15, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Mar 16, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Mar 16, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Mar 17, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Mar 17, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Mar 18, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Mar 18, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Mar 19, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Mar 19, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Mar 20, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Mar 20, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sat Mar 21, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sun Mar 22, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Mar 23, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Mar 23, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Mar 24, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Mar 24, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Mar 25, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Mar 25, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Mar 26, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Mar 26, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Mar 27, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Mar 27, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sat Mar 28, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sun Mar 29, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Mar 30, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Mar 30, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Mar 31, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Mar 31, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Apr 1, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Apr 1, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Apr 2, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Apr 2, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Apr 3, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Apr 3, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sat Apr 4, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sun Apr 5, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Apr 6, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Apr 6, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Apr 7, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Apr 7, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Apr 8, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Apr 8, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Apr 9, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Apr 9, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Apr 10, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Apr 10, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sat Apr 11, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sun Apr 12, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Apr 13, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Mon Apr 13, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Apr 14, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Tue Apr 14, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Apr 15, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Wed Apr 15, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Apr 16, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Thu Apr 16, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Apr 17, 2020 at 9:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Fri Apr 17, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sat Apr 18, 2020 at 10:00 AM
State Library of Queensland
Stanley Place, South Brisbane
Starts: Sun Apr 19, 2020 at 10:00 AM