10 Island Stories at
TBA
Multiple Sessions

10 Island Stories

10 Island Stories - This latest exhibition at the Furneaux Museum on Flinders Island features 10 precious items from the Museum collection.
The exhibition was collated by interested Museum members as part of a four-week workshop and includes interesting items such as:
Snakes: Flinders Island has several of the most poisonous snakes and this exhibit traces the history of the treatment of snake bites. There is also a fascinating DVD made by David Attenborough on the Tiger snake subspecies that lives only on Mt Chappell Island and has evolved to eat just once a year – on baby mutton birds.
Organ: This portable pedal organ could be folded up and was carried on many horse and boat trips undertaken by the Briant family in the 1880s. It provided music for church services and dances on Cape Barren, Chappell and Little Green Islands.
Jacket: This black taffeta short beaded jacket with extra beaded pieces was owned and worn by Hilda Blundstone in the 1940s. Hilda loved the dances, especially the balls, where this beautiful little evening jacket would have been worn.
Address: 8 Fowlers Road, Emita 7255
Price: TBA
Date: Saturday Oct 23rd, 2021 11:00am to 3:00pm
Sessions
Sessions
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sat Oct 23, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sun Oct 24, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sat Oct 30, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sun Oct 31, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sat Nov 6, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sun Nov 7, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sat Nov 13, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sun Nov 14, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sat Nov 20, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sun Nov 21, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sat Nov 27, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sun Nov 28, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sat Dec 4, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sun Dec 5, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sat Dec 11, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sun Dec 12, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sat Dec 18, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sun Dec 19, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Furneaux Museum
8 Fowlers Road, Emita
Starts: Sat Dec 25, 2021 at 11:00 AM
Tasmania